• Toolr Team

New Feature: Worker Messaging - Communicate with workers while they’re on the move

Now you can send a message to a worker, a group of workers, or all workers at once. Let them know about extreme weather conditions, or just wish them a great weekend. No message is too big or small, and is sent to each person separately.


Communicating with your workers on the job is critically important, so we’ve made it easy to send a message and get confirmation that the worker has received the message.


We’re rolling this feature out in “beta” for testing purposes over the next couple of weeks and then it will be a part of our Plus Tier. We’ll be rolling the feature out in phases over the next couple of weeks, so keep an eye out for the Messaging icon in the main navigation on the left side of your admin portal.


To gain access to this feature and future new functionality, please make sure you have upgraded to the latest version of your admin portal. To access the latest version, visit this URL to access your admin panel: app.mytoolr.com


Worker Messaging, what is it?


Our new feature, Messaging, will allow you to send messages to anyone you select. You can also search and filter to select only a few recipients.



How to send a message?


Currently you can only send messages from your admin portal on your desktop and receive messages on a mobile device, we call this “one-way messaging.” Here is how you access and use it:


  1. For the device that you want to receive the messages, check that you have the latest version of the app on that advice by going to the settings section of your device and checking you have version 2.7.0 or later. If not, go to your designated app store and search for Toolr. Click on the app and then click update.

  2. Grab your computer and log into your admin portal at app.mytoolr.com

  3. Select messaging on the left-hand side in the navigation bar.

  4. Select who you want to send a message to by:

  5. Scroll to find their name, select their name

  6. Type their name, email, or employee ID in the search bar

  7. Select “New Message” and then select the person or multiple people you want to send a message to

  8. Once you’ve selected who you want to send a message to, then you can type your message and push send in the bottom right corner.




Message Statuses:

Sent: This means your message has successfully been sent to the selected recipient.


Delivered: This means your message has been successfully downloaded on the recipient’s device so they can now view it.


Acknowledged: This means the recipient has read your message and manually selected the acknowledge button to confirm they have received your message.



What’s next?


We’ve rolled out a CHANGELOG. This is something the engineering team is excited about, so that you can be kept in the loop with all the things they’ve been working on. You can find it in the bottom left corner of the Admin Portal of our latest version: app.mytoolr.com



From our last survey we heard your feedback. We plan to roll out the new features you voted on, starting with messaging and a worker directory, as well as improving the current timekeeping features we have. We’re a small team making big strides, and we greatly appreciate your feedback and patience. We will continue building the platform that will help elevate the way your teams work. Our promise is to always bring you next level technologies and workflows.


We want to hear from you! Please reach out with any feedback or ideas in our new platform's help section (pictured below): https://app.mytoolr.com/help